Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

redqueen.jpg

Title: Red Queen
Author: Victoria Aveyard
Published by: HarperTeen
Publication date: 10th February 2015
Pages: 383
Genres:  Fantasy, Young Adult, Fiction, Dystopia
Format: Paperback
Source: Purchased

“Anyone can betray anyone.”

If there was ever a book were you thought you knew what was going on and then you were totally, inexplicably wrong, this would be it.

When I first picked up Red Queen, I thought it sounded fantastic. I love a good dystopian novel and this book seemed to fit the bill. However, as I was reading it, I was becoming more and more upset. It was too predictable. I still enjoyed the story but from early on I had figured out exactly how it would play out.

And then I was wrong. So terribly, terribly wrong. I won’t spoil the book by saying what happens, but just know that what you think isn’t always the case, no matter how predictable something may seem. I’ve met some people who weren’t as shocked by ‘the thing’ but I had written the book off as ordinary so it was a major twist for me.

Red Queen is set in an alternate universe were there are two kinds of people: the ones who bleed silver, who have supernatural powers and riches, and the ones that bleed red and have nothing.
Until anomaly Mare Barrow comes onto the scene. Seventeen year old Mare is a thief living in the Stilts and doesn’t see anything changing anytime soon. Until she has a chance to save her best friend from being conscripted into the royal guard and she finds herself working undercover in the Silver palace. She’s going to have to fight tooth and nail in there if she wants to survive because no one is truly on her side anymore.

The Red Queen is absolutely amazing and I recommend it highly. I’ll take you to the bookstore to get it. I’ll lend you my copy. Especially if you’re a fan of fantasy fiction, this book is just what you’ve been looking for. It’s not that it’s life changing, but once you’re in, it will be impossible to get out.

Leave a Reply

