My Most Anticipated Books of Fall 2016

I’m always on the lookout for books to add to my ever growing TBR pile and thought I would share the ones I’m currently most excited to find and devour! I’d love to hear if anyone has read any of these and what your thoughts were. Without further ado, I give you the top six books (in no particular order) I’m most looking forward to reading before the end of 2016.

 

everywhere.jpg

The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Heilig
Nix, who has spent her entire life on a ship belonging to her father, a man capable of traveling anywhere in the world at any point in time once he has the right map for it, finds herself at a crossroads when her father become obsessed with returning to 1868 Honolulu to reunite with her mother. But this could erase her entire existence and she has only just begun to find herself and her own ‘fantastical abilities’. I’ve gathered from reviews that this book contains a lot of historical information, pirates (but not really?) and diverse characters, so I’m definitely ready to devour this book.

 

heartless

Heartless by Marissa Meyer
So I haven’t read any of her work, but from the Goodreads reviews I’ve read for this book, Meyer appears to have captured the magical world of Wonderland beautifully. This book follows the story of a young woman intent on following her own heart’s desire and is secretly courting a Joker before she eventually becomes the infamous Queen of Hearts. It sounds fantastic and I can’t wait to get my hands on it.

 

threedarkcrowns

Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake
Three royal, magic-possessing triplets are born every generation on the island of Fennbirn. When they turn sixteen, the sisters will battle to the death to become queen and apparently two of the sisters have been faking their powers and their other sister and the rest of the island are none the wiser. From what I’ve seen, everyone is impressed by this book for its creativity and especially its ending. I can’t possibly imagine the dynamic of the sisters’ relationships with each other and I’m dying to read this book when it comes out at the end of September.

 

crookedkingdom.jpg

Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo
I am a huge fan of Bardugo’s writing and skill for world building and ability to create brilliant and intense characters. The prequel to this book, Six of Crows, is by far my favorite book of 2016 so far and potentially one of my favorite books of all time. I’m dying to see what happens next to all of the characters that grabbed my heart and tore it apart. This will be the final book of the two-part series and characters are rumored to not make it out the other side so I’m preparing myself for the inevitable tears.

secrethistory.jpg

The Secret History by Donna Tartt
This book was published in 2004 but I’ve only recently stumbled across it and it instantly grabbed my attention. A twisting tale of university students committing murder mixed in with Greek mythology and dark, cult-belonging-to characters. Plus, it was rated five stars on Goodreads by a favorite author of mine, Maggie Stiefvater, so I’m even more excited to read it because of that.

 

circus

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
The circus has come to town unannounced and if you look past the smoke and mirrors, you’ll discover a fantastical duel between two young illusionists. The only problem is, these illusionists don’t really know the rules of the game or what determines the end and things get tied up and messy when they start to fall for each other. This story holds a lot of promise and will definitely be one of the books I aim to get my hands on ASAP.

Leave a Reply

