I Am The Messenger by Markus Zusak

Title: I Am the Messengermarkusz.jpg
Author:
Markus Zusak
Published by: Alfred A. Knopf Borzoi Books
Publication date: 9th May 2006
Pages: 360
Genres: Young Adult, Fiction, Mystery
Format: Paperback
Source: Purchased

 

I originally bought this book as the bookstore I was in had a limited selection of books I was interested in and also because Markus Zusak has such a reputation of being a great writer. I’d never read any of his other books but I assumed they would all live up to the hype.  I wish I could say I was a fan of this book, but I wasn’t in the slightest. It took me almost two years to finish it and I only finished it because I had a vague interest in knowing how it ended, but really it was more because I have a rule for myself that I have to finish every book I start.

Ed Kennedy was probably the reason I didn’t like it. He’s a dull character and throughout the whole book I pictured him as a middle aged man with no ambition or life goals, despite the fact that he’s about nineteen years old. He obviously wanted to make the world a better place through all of his assigned adventures but I found him so boring and couldn’t read more than a few pages at a time.

The “big reveal” at the end is a flop and after dragging myself through the book to see what waited at the end, I was disappointed. Maybe I missed something, but nothing about it clicked for me.

This is just one of those books that I happen to have an unpopular opinion about. I tend to judge books a lot on their author’s writing style, so if you’re a fan of The Book Thief or his other work, you may like this one. I personally am unlikely to try any of his other books in the near future.

One thought on “I Am The Messenger by Markus Zusak

Leave a Reply

