The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater

Title: The Raven King (#4 of The Raven Cycle)ravenking.jpg
Author:
Maggie Stiefvater
Published by: Scholastic Press
Publication date: 26th April 2016
Pages: 439
Genres:  Fantasy, Young Adult, Paranormal, Magic, Adventure
Format: Hardcover
Source: Purchased

 

I dragged my feet through the final book of the Raven Cycle series because I honestly wasn’t ready for it to end. I cried like a baby through the last chapter and long after I put the Raven King on the shelf to join the other three of its family.

Like Blue, I fell in love with the Aglionby boys-their magic, their quest, their awfulness and their strangeness. Stiefvater’s writing style holds its own magic within it and I truly believe if she wrote a story about toast and jam that I would still feel like I had walked a thousand miles through a mystical land. It is not often you come across such creative and realistic characters that grab you by the heart from the first page and end up holding your hand through the end.

Thank you Maggie, for writing a story with such wonderful characters, each filled with their own magic, love and wanderlust. I’ve grown a lot while reading these, having started the series sometime in high school. I will reread it until I can’t anymore. I love this story and it will always have a special place in my heart.

It was always supposed to be Gansey’s adventure and his journey to finding Glendower. Along the way it became everyone’s adventure and that was amazing and I became so immersed in their stories. However, I was pleasantly surprised when The Raven King finally followed Gansey a bit more as he discovered his King- the one who undoubtedly brought them all together.

And for all you Raven Cycle readers out there, this is the best possible ending any of us could hope for. It’s sad to see it come to a close, but we couldn’t have asked for better closure. Also, there’s the potential for a Ronan centered trilogy, so I think it’s safe to say we’ll be seeing all of our favorite characters again!

And now, let us welcome the next author into our lives that will rip our hearts out of chests and stomp on them before neatly putting them back in. *cough* Leigh Bardugo/ The Crooked Kingdom *cough*.

Leave a Reply

