The Literary Dinner Party Tag

Come in, come in. We’re just getting started!

Welcome to my first ever book tag! As many book bloggers do, I enjoy reading tags but I’ve never found one I’ve been incredibly keen on doing myself. Until now! This tag was created by NEHOMAS2 on YouTube but I found it over on dreamlandbookblog who has a great list of creative book tags like this one, if you’re ever in need of a fun tag.

In this tag, you host a dinner party and invite any character of your choosing for each prompt. I also wanted to highlight some artwork of as many characters as possible from Tumblr because the book loving artists there are crazy talented. Let the feast begin!

1. One character who can cook/likes to cook

Magnus Bane from the Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare. I don’t even remember if he likes to or can cook but I imagine he’s great at it and cooks for Alec all the time. Plus, he’d be a wonderful character to invite to a party.

credit to shirmir
Magnus Bane by thewildestdreams
credit to thewildestdreams

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2. One character who has money to fund the party

Chandresh Christophe Lefevre from The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. Chandresh knows how to host a party more than any character I’ve ever come across. His parties are held at all hours of the day and have magnificent but indistinguishable food, incredible party guests and intriguing festivities. I would have no problem inviting him to fund and plan this party.The Night Circus

3. One character who might cause a scene

Ronan Lynch from The Raven Cycle series by Maggie Stiefvater. Ronan was the first character to come to mind and I would really hope that even if he did cause a scene that he would just continue babbling on about farming and Adam. My night would be made.

4. One character who is funny/amusing

Nikolai Lantsov/Sturmhond from the Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo. Nikolai and his many facades are all the best type of sarcastic character. This pirate privateer has incredible tales to tell and witty comebacks for anyone who converses with him. He would be the life of the party for sure.

littleschemer:“ More Grisha trilogy art - Nikolai this time :) I really loved Nikolai, so it was only a matter of time before I caved and drew him. I was worried this wouldn’t turn out as nicely as the Alina and Darkling pictures because of the lack...
credit to littleschemerart

5. One character who is super social/popular

Henry Cheng from The Raven Cycle series by Maggie Stiefvater. Henry would make the perfect dinner guest at literally any function ever. He would be his charming self and keep the conversation moving in all kinds of directions. He may even convince the other guests to travel the world with him on a whim. Who knows?

another boy in school uniform…king henry
credit to theshardsofmyheart

6. One villain

Adelina Amouteru from The Young Elites by Marie Lu. I’ve not had the chance to read the rest of the trilogy yet, but throughout The Young Elites and especially near the end, I was feeling villain vibes from her. At least she’s unlikely to murder my other dinner guests so that’s something.

Modern!Adelinaall right y’all here’s a collab! i did the lines and @itsiparwing did the absolutely AMAZING colouring! it was tons of fun to draw & i’m hoping to do more collabs in the future [click here for Modern!Violetta]
credit to deanpinterester & itsiparwing

7. One couple – doesn’t have to be romantic

SOLANGELO from Percy Jackson and the Olympians series by Rick Riordan. Favorite pairing and they have such a huge fandom with lots of art. It’s fab.


8. One hero/heroine

Nina Zenik from the Six of Crows duology by Leigh Bardugo. Nina is one of my favorite characters ever and I may or may not have a post dedicated entirely to her sitting in my drafts. Aaaanyway, Nina is welcome at my table anytime.

9. One underappreciated character

Kai from The Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman. Sooo, Kai may not be considered an underappreciated character since he is a main character but he definitely goes under the radar and I think he could have gotten a lot more book time. Then again, this is a trilogy and I’ve only read the first book so far. But Kai is part dragon and has to hide that in the many worlds he travels through and doesn’t get any recognition for it at all. He’d be a cool dinner guest.

The Invisible Library (The Invisible Library, #1)

10. One character of your own choosing

Jesper Fahey from the Six of Crows duology by Leigh Bardugo. Jesper is ridiculously wonderful. He’s quick, funny and flirtatious. I know he’d fit right in with the rest of my dinner guests.

credit to kevin wada

Extra:

And if someone had to cancel or I was allowed to invite more people, I’d totally invite Penelope Bunce from Carry On by Rainbow Rowell. She’s awesome.

Yussss Penelope Bunce Carry On Rainbow Rowell:
credit to carryonbazpitch

houseofboooks: “EVERYTIME I LOOK AT MY TBR PILE ”

2 thoughts on “The Literary Dinner Party Tag

Leave a Reply

