Hamilton Book Tag

For those who don’t know, I’m a massive fan of the musical Hamilton (still waiting to see it) so when I came across this tag I couldn’t ignore it. I had to take My Shot. I was not going to Wait For It. This tag may contain spoilers but I don’t think so. Enjoy!

THE QUESTIONS:

The Room Where It Happens: A book world you would put yourself in

13330943
The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern, but only to visit the circus. The world itself doesn’t interest me too much-way too similar to ours. But the circus! Now that would be something to experience.

The Schuyler Sisters: An underrated female character

24885794
Imogen (and all of her other aliases) from Underworlds by Scott Westerfeld. I loved how she had her girlfriend lock her in the trunk of her car and drive her around so she could get the real experience of being kidnapped so she could properly describe it in her novel. She was just such a cool and understanding character and seemed so real.

My Shot: A character that goes after what they want and doesn’t let anyone stop them

sixofcrows

Kaz Brekker from the Six of Crows duology by Leigh Bardugo. Nothing can stop him and his ambition is pretty inspiring, really. “They don’t know who we are. Not really. They don’t know what we’ve done, what we’ve managed together. So let’s go show them they picked the wrong damn fight.” Also he’s so incredible with Inej, even though they can’t even hold hands sometimes. He still tries and I love him for it.

Stay Alive: A character you wish was still alive (YES there are spoilers!)

ruta

***
Willie from Out of the Easy by Ruta Sepytus was my favorite character in the book and of all characters to die, she was the one I wanted Sepytus to spare. I cried my eyes out when she died.

 

 

It’s Quiet Uptown: A book that made you ugly cry

14290364

Look. If you’re gonna end a book with countless tear jerking moments that are presented in the simplest of ways, take note from Champion by Marie Lu. I bawled through the last few chapters.

 

 

Burn: The most heartbreaking end to a relationship you’ve ever read (NO spoilers here!)

The first thing that comes to mind is actually a story I read on Wattpad a good five years ago but I can’t remember the title. But basically it ripped my heart out when it ended really depressingly.

You’ll Be Back: Sassiest villain

I couldn’t really think of anyone and the first character I could actually come up with was the Humdrum from Carry On by Rainbow Rowell. However, he’s not at all sassy. Then I saw in someone else’s tag they had suggested Draco Malfoy from the Harry Potter series and uh, YES.

The Reynolds Pamphlet: A book with a twist that you didn’t see coming (Not really a spoiler at all!)

redqueen

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard! I thought I had this book all figured out and I was going to have to put it down as another unoriginal idea for a dystopian YA novel but THEN!

 

 

 

Non-Stop: A series you marathoned

10507293

I devoured The Selection series by Kiera Cass really quickly. I loved it. I know it’s a book that gets a lot of heat as a pretty silly concept for a book and I totally understand why but it’s just so easily consumed. It’s such an indulgent read.

 

 

Satisfied: Favorite book with multiple POVs

crookedkingdomCrooked Kingdom is one of my favorite books ever but ravenkingI think I’m going to go with The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater. The Raven Boys and Blue feel like family to me (as do Kaz and his crew) and I would be a lesser person without both groups of friends. So both books haha.

Who Lives, Who Dies, Who Tells Your Story: A book/series you feel like will be remembered throughout history

sixofcrows

I’m tempted to say the Six of Crows duology because I don’t think I’ve seen a single bad review for it and it’s also pretty darn fantastic, if you ask me. But I don’t think it really fits the typical ‘classic’ genre. Let’s go with it anyway.

 

 

BONUS QUESTIONS:

Helpless: A relationship you were pulling for from the very start

20643052

Wolfe and Santi in Ink & Bone by Rachel Caine. Their love is too great for this world and what’s best is that it’s presented as just a regular relationship in the book, one that most characters don’t seem to even know about but as a reader you just know. I love them.

Ten Duel Commandments: Favorite fight scene

graceling_cover

I read Graceling by Kristen Cashore a really long time ago but I still have fond memories of it and always really enjoyed the training ‘fight’ scenes between Katsa and Po, if those count.

Say No To This: Guilty pleasure read

17134589
The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie Hall. I wrote a review for this so you can see my thoughts over here. It was a pretty sub par start to a book but it grew on me and it’s definitely a guilty pleasure read.

What Comes Next: A series you wish had more books

18705209
The Heroes of Olympus by Rick Riordan is definitely one of my favorite series. It ended perfectly and I want it to stay amazing (so writing more books for the series may just drag it out) but I do sometimes wish there would be another installment so I could continue on the journey.

Right Hand Man: Favorite BROTP

256683I always enjoyed reading scenes between Simon
and 12067Rafael in the Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare, though they were far and few between. Crowley and Aziraphale from Good Omens by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman have a pretty great bromance too.

What’d I Miss: A book or series you were/still are late to reading

16096824

I have yet to read A Court of Thorns and Roses or any book by Sarah J. Mass, for that matter. I don’t really plan to right now but I do see her books everywhere I turn so maybe I’ll give the series a shot in the future.

 

 

ALSO, if you guys haven’t seen this video yet of some AMAZING singers doing a mashup of Hamilton and Beyonce, WHAT ARE YOU EVEN WAITING FOR?? #HAM4BEY

2 thoughts on “Hamilton Book Tag

Leave a Reply

