The Liebster Award

Thank you so much to Bella for the nomination! This is my third award and I’m so flattered every time I’m nominated for one!

Rules:

  1. Thank the person who nominated you and post a link to their site on your blog
  2. Display the award on your blog
  3. Answer 10 questions about yourself, which will be provided to you by the person who nominated you
  4. Nominate 5-10 other bloggers for the award
  5. Create a new list of questions for your nominees to answer
  6. List these rules in your post
  7. Inform the people/blogs that they have been nominated for the Liebster award and provide a link for them to your post so they can learn about it

Q/A

What is your advice to people who want to start a book blog?

Before starting my blog I read a lot of posts (mostly written by Amber @ The Mile Long Bookshelf) on how to start a book blog.
Look into what platform you want to use (I tried using Blogger first but after spending about fifteen hours trying to figure out how to do the html and get it how I wanted it, I gave up and moved to WordPress, which I love). Figure out a name/url before you set up your blog. Maybe write a few posts before you start as well. Most of all just have fun with it. And once you’ve started one, get involved in the community! That’s the most fulfilling part.

What is your most read genre?

YA, of course, but within that, definitely fantasy.

What has been the most rewarding part about having a book blog?

I’m able to gush about books and have people gush back. That doesn’t happen too often in my daily life haha. I’ve also discovered so many new books that I want to read, all thanks to other bloggers.

What would you like your readers to know about you that you haven’t mentioned before?

This was a really tough question. I think I’d like you guys to know that I’m very interested in science (I am a pre vet student, after all), human rights and the environment and I do try to keep my blog all about books but I would really enjoy writing some other content sometimes. Also the current political atmosphere across the world is crazy and if I could offer new insight or just some hope and love to the conversation, I’d do it. I’m trying to figure out a way to incorporate this into book posts but haven’t quite got it yet. Getting there, though. 🙂

What is one book that really changed the way you look at things?

Born A Crime by Trevor Noah. This autobiography is such an enlightening book and while it’s often hilarious, it’s also incredibly raw and painful. It changed my way of thinking in that I now have more faith in miracles.

What is one book that you think is really important for everyone to read?

Born A Crime by Trevor Noah (again). It so clearly outlines racism as a way of thinking in South Africa (and it extends to the rest of the world, as well). Trevor Noah does such a good job of explaining complex concepts that he learned through his upbringing and with the state of the world being what it currently is, I believe that everyone should read this because it’s so insightful and well written.

Is there any one specific book character that you really connected to?

Nina from the Six of Crows duology is one of my favorite characters of all time. I’ve mentioned before that I’ve got a draft post dedicated entirely to her but that may not see the light of day for a while. She’s just such an amazingly strong character and I loved her humor, confidence and fearlessness that she always emitted, despite all of the hardship thrown her way.

What is your favorite quote from a book?

Must I choose only one? I don’t know if that’s possible. Nope, it’s not. Instead I present to you, THREE quotes!

“Time is a gift, given to you, given to give you the time you need, the time you need to have the time of your life. ”
Norton Juster, The Phantom Tolbooth

“It’s not natural for women to fight.”
“It’s not natural for someone to be as stupid as he is tall, and yet there you stand.”
Leigh Bardugo, Six of Crows

“We tell people to follow their dreams, but you can only dream of what you can imagine, and, depending on where you come from, your imagination can be quite limited.”
– Trevor Noah, Born A Crime

What is one book that made you laugh out loud?

Born A Crime by Trevor Noah um, the entire Six of Crows duology gave me those giggles you get when something clever happens or you come across a brilliant plot twist and suddenly you’re so high off of what comes next and you just have to giggle. Is that weird? Me laughing out loud due to genius happenings in a book? Possibly. Other than the maniacal giggles, nothing comes to mind right now.

What is the book/series that got you into reading?

I’ve been reading nonstop (when life permits) since I was a wee lass and so there wasn’t a specific book that got me into reading. My mom read to me every night for the majority of my childhood and my whole family encouraged me to read on my own as well. It was all I ever did, to the point where I’d not be allowed to take books with me to an event or I was restricted to a number of books I could get at libraries/bookstores. Once a book dragon, always a book dragon.

My Nominees

Leanne @ Snowly’s Rambles

Alex @ Young At Heart

Alex @ Whimsy Pages

Natalie @ Wild Fantasy

Stellah @ The Little Book Nerd’s Life

Maddie @ Stories and Spoons

My Questions

  1. Which three books define you as a reader?
  2. What’s your favorite time period to read about?
  3. What is one of your favorite posts that you wrote?
  4. How do you feel about pineapple on pizza?
  5. If you’re not reading, what are you doing?
  6. Are there any popular books/series that you haven’t read yet?
  7. If you could effortlessly learn something new right now, what would it be?
  8. What’s your go-to book recommendation that you like to give?
  9. When do you like to work on posts? Are you a day or night person?
  10. What would be your ideal day?
7 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

  1. Congrats on the award! I usually don’t read nonfiction but I think I’ll pick up “Born a Crime”, it sounds like it’s one of those inspirational books everyone should read. I would love to read that post all about Nina by the way, I love her! That’s one of my favorite quotes from Six of Crows!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you! Honestly reading his book was like watching the Daily Show but everything he talked about was his childhood in South Africa instead of the current news haha. I’ll be working on that post soon and hopefully posting it! I’m mostly just going to be gushing about Nina but that’s okay. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

