Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake

Title: Three Dark Crowns28374007
Author: Kendare Blake
Published by: HarperTeen
Publication date: 20th September 2016
Pages: 398
Genres:  Fantasy, Young Adult, Magic
Format: Hardcover
Source: Purchased

Three Black Witches are born in a glen,
sweet little triplets
will never be friends.

Three Black Witches, all fair to be seen
two to devour
and one to be queen

Two days after I finished reading this book, Epic Reads made a post called Three Dark Crowns Book Hangover and it’s as if the universe just knew what I was going through. I am in dire need of One Dark Throne. Its September release cannot come soon enough.

Every generation, a set of royal triplets are born possessing one of three forms of magic on the island of Fennbirn. They are separated at a young age to be mentored by the most powerful families in their skill set. Queen Katherine is a poisoner and is being trained under the Arrons who have been in control of the island for almost a century. Queen Mirabella is the most powerful elementalist to come along in decades and Queen Arsinoe is a naturalist who’s best friend has more magic in her than she ever will. But being royal born just doesn’t cut it. At the age of sixteen, the sisters all have one year to kill the other two. Only one can be left standing at the end of it all and even if the sisters are hesitant about killing each other, their families and the temple have other plans.

First off, how dark is the idea for this book and also how much do you absolutely adore it? It was almost impossible for me to side with one sister and say, ‘Her. She’s the one I want to be the Queen Crowned. The other two can die.’ Each sister had her faults and throughout the book I was constantly torn between who I wanted to survive. Every sister comes from a family that doesn’t want her to die, doesn’t believe she will, but of course, two of them have to. And you may be thinking, ‘well can’t they just leave Fennbirn? It’s an island, after all.’ And no, escape isn’t really an option but I think we’ll find out a little more about that in the sequel.

Queen Mirabella is the only sister who has any memory of her childhood and her love for her sisters is a massive setback for well, murdering them. Obviously. “It is too cruel otherwise, to force a Queen to kill what she loves. Her own sisters. And for her to see that which she loves come at her door like wolves, seeking her head.”

Queen Katherine is rough from the cruel training she’s gone through her entire life. Despite being constantly poisoned, she hasn’t built up much of a tolerance and hiding her lack of power isn’t easy. But she’s a fighter and she has a thirst for blood and will not back down without a fight.“I want revenge.” She whispers, and her fingers trail bloody streaks down Natalia’s arms. “And then I want my crown.”

Queen Arsinoe is probably my favorite of the three sisters. She’s rambunctious and despite her powers that have not yet arrived, she’s a fighter. She’s brave and down to earth and I was just able to relate to her and her people better than to the other sisters. One character tells her that she’s mostly stomach and if that isn’t relatable, I don’t know what is.

Three Dark Crowns is a treacherous read and rightfully so. I loved the characters and the different relationships between them and I especially liked Blake’s writing style. It worked magnificently for the book and as soon as I finished reading the acknowledgements I went back to the beginning and started rereading random pages over again. My only critique is that I would have loved to have been given more of the history behind the island and how its magic works but hopefully that will come in the second book. Three Dark Crowns is a 10/10 recommendation for me and I hope that if you haven’t read it yet, that you will and that you’ll enjoy it as much as I did!

2 thoughts on “Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake

Leave a Reply

