The Scavenger Hunt Book Tag

Happy Sunday, everyone!

I’m not sure who created this tag but I got the questions from Puput @ Sparkling Letters, who’s got a fantastic blog so definitely go check her out if you haven’t already!

I had a lot of fun putting this together! This was the first time I’ve taken photos of my books and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I always love looking at other book bloggers’ instagrams or photos on their blogs and making my own was definitely fun.
I took all of these photos in my garden and hope you enjoy the hunt!

Find a book with the letter ‘Z’ in the title or in the author’s name

IMG_0015IMG_0014

I Am the Messenger by Markus Zusak took me almost three years to finish but I know other people have liked it. I just could never get into it.
Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins is my favorite book in the Hunger Games trilogy. I just loved the arena and the new characters so much more compared to the other books.

Find a classic

IMG_0021

Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger and 1984 by George Orwell are two classics that I actually enjoyed reading, haha. Only after editing this post did I realize that The Penderwicks by Jeanne Birdsall isn’t a classic but we’re going to pretend it is.

Find a book with a key on its cover

IMG_0022IMG_0025

Bitterblue by Kristen Cashore was an enjoyable ending to the Graceling trilogy, especially all of the Katsa and Po scenes.
Love, Lies and Spies by Cindy Anstey is a collision of Jane Austen and undercover spies set in 1813 England. It’s peppered with light romance and mystery and I definitely recommend it as a light read.

Find something on your shelves that isn’t a book

IMG_0029

This red double decker bus from Harrods is a toy I’ve owned since I was really, really young and in more recent years it has become a fun, decorative accent on my shelves.

Find a book with an animal on the cover

IMG_0057

The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater is the perfect conclusion to the Raven Cycle series and each book has a gorgeous cover with wonderful characters and a perplexing plot so if you haven’t read it, do so!
An Elephant in the Garden by Michael Morpurgo is a semi-fictional story about a family who treks across Germany with a baby elephant during World War II.
Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo is absolutely magical-please see absolutely any review ever if you want more information.

IMG_0034
Mr. Popper’s Penguins by Richard and Florence Atwater is the story of a couple who unexpectedly receive a penguin, and then another, and soon their house is overflowing with them!
The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson is a great summer read about dog walking, friendship and love.
Thief Eyes by Janni Lee Simner is a fantasy story based off of Icelandic folklore.
Fantastic Mr. Fox by Roald Dahl is a childhood favorite and is all about a family of foxes and their efforts to continue living in their den.

Find a book with a girl on its cover

IMG_0039

The Passion of Dolssa by Julie Berry is a very interesting book set in 13th century France and follows three sisters who take in a girl believed to be a heretic.
Witch World by Christopher Pike was a complex book for me to understand when I was younger (haven’t read it since but remember thinking it was okay) and it’s basically a story of alternate universes and a girl who figures out how to move between them.
The Miseducation of Cameron Post by Emily M. Danforth is a riveting story of what it’s like growing up gay in a Bible Belt town during the eighties.
Defiance by C.J. Redwine is definitely for fans of the Hunger Games and Graceling. It’s got some good fight scenes in it but the book isn’t very original.
Airhead by Meg Cabot was one of my favorite books when I was eleven or so and is about a girl who’s brain gets placed into the body of a teenage supermodel. Definitely a guilty pleasure read.

Find a non-YA book

IMG_0042

I Am American (And So Can You!) by Stephen Colbert is quite fun if you’re a fan of Colbert. I can remember enjoying many parts of it when I last looked at it.
Born A Crime by Trevor Noah is a book I can’t recommend enough and it’s definitely a favorite of mine. It’s Noah’s memoir of growing up in South Africa and it’s just so incredible.
Straight People by Jeffery Self is a book I picked up in a boring airport bookstore but the book itself can be pretty entertaining.

Find a book with stars on the cover

IMG_0056

(So these covers aren’t exactly made of galaxies but this was the best I could find haha)
Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard by Rick Riordan
was a teensy bit of a let down for me since I was expecting it to be more YA than middle grade. However, it’s Riordan and his books are always fun to immerse myself in from time to time.
The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern is one of my favorite books of all time. It’s about a mysterious circus and all those who join it and it’s just so beautiful!
The Thinking Woman’s Guide to Real Magic by Emily Croy Barker is kind of like an adult Alice in Wonderland. It was a little slow but I still enjoyed reading it!

Find a book with golden letters on it

IMG_0050

I can’t bring myself to write a synopsis/opinion for all of these, I’m sorry. Let’s just admire the pretty gold lettering together, instead!


For some reason, every time I tried to post this today, random chunks of the writing would be missing and I’ve redone it too many times today so if you see anything that doesn’t flow, let’s all just blame the Once-ler.

Leave a Reply

