Everything Leads to You by Nina LaCour

Title: Everything Leads to You18667779
Author: Nina LaCour
Published by: Speak
Publication date: 5th May 2015
Pages: 336
Genres:  Young Adult, Contemporary, LGBT, Romance
Format: Paperback
Source: Purchased

“Because in the conversation beneath this one, what we’re really saying is I am an imperfect person. Here are my failures. Do you want me anyway?”

This book was so lovely and brought me to tears at the end. It had a wonderfully happy ending and it was the perfect pick me up after a long month of not reading anything due to school. This book is full of love, mystery and the small things that make up a person. It was insightful, well written, and really held onto me, even in the early moments of the book.

Everything Leads to You follows Emi, a young set designer in Los Angeles, through the summer before university. She’s working on a film with her best friend and while they’re looking for props at a sale in a famous actor’s home who recently passed away, they stumble across a letter meant for a mystery woman and they can’t seem to shake the feeling that they’re meant to find her. While they don’t quite find who the letter is addressed to, perhaps they stumble across an even bigger adventure.

LaCour obviously did tons of research for this book and I felt like I was really experiencing life as a set designer in Hollywood! The thing about this book that was so cool is that it’s about creating the illusion of real life in film and being able to invoke emotions within people and the book did the same thing. Reading it was like watching a film. A really good, sepia toned film.

Emi reminded me of a gay Nancy Drew and personally, I loved that. With her best friend Charlotte, she uncovers this whole secret life of a young woman and finds herself creating a new life for her, one that she might just get to be in, as well.

My only issue with the story was that going into it, I had a very different idea of what this book was about. And I know that’s not really a fault in the book but going off of synopses and what other people had to say about Everything Leads to You, I had expected something a little different. Luckily, the actual story took over the one in my head really quickly and it was smooth sailing from there.

Everything Leads to You has it all. A diverse cast, incredible female friendships, a loving and realistic romance, mystery, laughter, and it’s jam packed with the wonders of film making. I loved all of the characters and each of their backstories and dreams. I also loved how tacos were always the answer. “It sucks. Let’s go get tacos and sit on the beach.” This book was poetic, incredibly visual and wonderfully told. It’s a great insight into set designing and it was an adventure from the start. While the beginning wasn’t too impressive, it grew and I definitely recommend it.

One thought on “Everything Leads to You by Nina LaCour

Leave a Reply

