My Favorite Dedication Pages

Hello everyone, hope you’re all well!

Today I thought I would share one of my favorite parts of a book-the dedication page. I love dedication pages. They make me feel like I’m listening in on a private conversation between the author and someone else. And along with all the thousands of others who will read that book, of course. These are some of my favorites, from books I have and haven’t read. Hope you enjoy!

“To my wonderful readers:
Sorry about that last cliff-hanger.
Well, no, not really. HAHAHAHA.
But seriously, I love you guys.”
-Rick Riordan, The House of Hades

“For Colin Firth–You’re a really great guy, but I’m married, so I think we should just be friends.”
-Shannon Hale, Austenland

“It is very unnerving to be proven wrong, particularly when you are really right and the person who is really wrong is the one who is proving you wrong and proving himself, wrongly, right. Right?”
-Lemony Snicket, The Reptile Room

“To my mother, who liked the bit about the horse.”
-Douglas Adams, Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency

“To caffeine and sugar, my companions through many a long night of writing.”
-Robb Hobb

“You know how it is. You pick up a book, flip to the dedication, and find that, once again, the author has dedicated a book to someone else and not to you.
Not this time.
Because we haven’t met yet/have only a glancing acquaintance/are just crazy about each other/haven’t seen each other in much too long/are in some way related/will never meet, but will, I trust, despite that, always think fondly of each other….
This one’s for you.
With you know what, and you probably know why.”
-Neil Gaiman, Anansi Boys

“To Mom,
Who took me to the library.”
-Sean Carroll, The Particle at the End of the Universe

Do you have any favorite dedications? Let me know if I missed any fun ones!

6 thoughts on “My Favorite Dedication Pages

Leave a Reply

