The Personality Book Tag

Hey everyone,

(I have the text on paragraph format but the preview is showing some massive text lol. I won’t have wifi for a while when this goes up so we’re just gonna have to deal with this technical difficulty)

As I am traveling, I am once again posting a tag as they take less brain power to complete haha. I saw this one over on Thrice Read and what really intrigued me was the correlations made between personality type and book characters. While I don’t believe that personality can be completely summed up in brackets like this, I think that there is definitely some truth to MBTI and also, this was really fun to put together anyway. Feel free to tag yourself!

Take a free MBTI personality test at Sixteen Personalities or Personality Page.

All information in this post is taken from the Sixteen Personalities page.


What is your MBTI personality type?

I am an INFJ, also known as ‘The Advocate’. I lean more towards introversion, intuition, feelings, and judgement.

What is your personality like?

INFJs are usually very set on accomplishing goals, especially ones that aim to help others. INFJs are decisive and strong-willed. We like to find a balance in everything and we’re typically very creative people. INFJs, despite the J for judgement, are naturally very warm-hearted and conscientious.

However, because we’re often trying to solve problems and accomplish as much as possible, we can easily burn out without realizing it, constantly believing we can keep going off of ambition and desire alone. Basically, we’re terrible at self care, haha. We also hold ourselves to incredibly high standards and often expect the same from others, which can lead to difficulties.

If you were a character in a book, what would be some of you character’s strengths and flaws?

Strengths would be that I’m very compassionate, altruistic and insightful, meaning I can easily see past dishonesty and scams etc. INFJs are also inspiring and convincing/persuasive as how we speak/write apparently appeals to peoples’ inner idealist, which I’ve always prided myself on, I must admit.

Flaws would include that if I’m incredibly stressed out, I’m likely to react to a situation in an irrational way, which is frustrating, because INFJs are rational thinkers. I like my privacy and I’m a perfectionist and often leave behind good situations and relationships because I believe there’s always something better. I also burn out easily as I always have to be working towards something.

Do any authors share your personality type?

Plato, Agatha Christie, J.K. Rowling,  and Leo Tolstoy, to name a few. So yeah, you could say my ego is a little inflated right now.

What fictional characters share your personality type?

If you were a character in a book, what job would you have?

I have to know that whatever I’m doing is going to be beneficial to the greater good. According to Sixteen Personalities, typically INFJs go for jobs in the medical field but we can also choose to have more freedom of expression and go on to become authors, artists or musicians.

What personality type would complete your OTP?

Someone who understands that I rarely give out second chances as authenticity is very important to me and I won’t stand for any manipulative behavior or lying, etc.  My partner has to be independent, ambitious and have integrity.

Who are some fictional characters that would complete your OTP?

I think Alucard from AGOS by V.E. Schwab would be a good match as he thinks and acts deliberately and is often searching for new opportunities and trying to complete his goals efficiently while multitasking a handful of other situations. He enjoys being sociable but also appreciates his alone time, so he’d understand my need to sometimes be alone to recharge.

No one else immediately comes to mind so if any of you reading are INFJs, let me know which fictional characters would complete your OTP! I’m also interested to hear which of the sixteen personalities all of you guys fall into, as I quite like the MBTI (though after a Psych course, maybe a teeny bit less so as apparently it’s not the most accurate). Let me know in the comments!

 

10 thoughts on “The Personality Book Tag

  1. I love this tag! It’s so awesome to get to know other fellow bloggers better 🙂 And I’m also kind of interested in psychology in general.
    You’re so lucky to share your personality with such cool writers and characters, too!
    Great post, Maxine ^^

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m also INFJ and it’s rare I find someone else who shares the same personality type! Pretty much everything you said applies to me too. I think Alucard is an awesome match actually, I can’t think of anyone else either.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oo, this looks really interesting- I love how this tag matches bookish questions with personalities! I love that you have the same personality type as Dumbledore and Obi-Wan too 🙂
    I’m and ISFP-T, or an artist. When I read through my summary I didn’t agree with the first sections, but it definitely matched up in others!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

